4D Ocean-Atmosphere Dynamics

Dr. Kumiko Azetsu-Scott

BIO & Adjunct Professor of Oceanography, Dalhousie University

Ocean Carbon Cycle and Acidification

azetsu-scottk@mar.dfo-mpo.gc.ca

902-426-8572

Dr. Chris Algar

Assistant Professor, Department of Oceanography, Dalhousie University

Research Interests: Sediment biogeochemistry, nitrogen cycling, and ecosystem modelling.

calgar@dal.ca

902-494-7192

Dr. Stefanie Kienast

Assistant Professor, Department of Oceanography, Dalhousie University

Paleooceanography and sediment transport (Research Focus: Export Marine Export Production and Atmospheric Dust; Sea Surface Temperature and Storminess in the Western North Atlantic-last 2000 yrs.; Contamination of Coastal Sediments)

https://stephaniekienast.wordpress.com

Stephanie.kienast@dal.ca

902-494-2203

Dr. Katja Fennel

Canada Research Chair, Professor, Department of Oceanography, Dalhousie University

Biogeochemical modeling

http://memg.ocean.dal.ca/fennel/

katja.fennel@dal.ca

902-494-4526

Dr. Markus Kienast

Assistant Professor, Department of Oceanography, Dalhousie University

Paleoceanography and sedimentary biogeochemistry

http://oceanbiogeochem-atdal.org

markus.kienast@dal.ca

902-494-8338

Dr. Randall Martin

Full Professor, Department of Chemistry, Dalhousie University

Remote sensing and modeling of atmospheric composition

http://fizz.phys.dal.ca/~rvmartin/

randall.martin@dal.ca

902-494-3915

Dr. Jinyu Sheng

Professor of Oceanography, Dalhousie University

Modelling and prediction of marine extreme events, and physical oceanography of coastal waters.

http://www.dal.ca/faculty/science/oceanography/faculty-staff/faculty/jinyu-sheng.html

jinyu.sheng@dal.ca

902-494-2718

Dr. Helmuth Thomas

Assistant Professor, Department of Oceanography, Dalhousie University

Marine carbon cycle, CO2 air-sea fluxes

http://www.dal.ca/faculty/science/oceanography/faculty-staff/faculty/helmuth-thomas.html

helmuth.thomas@dal.ca

902-494-7177

Dr. Douglas Wallace

Professor of Oceanography, Dalhousie University

Ocean-atmosphere exchange, carbon cycle, observing technologies.

http://www.dal.ca/diff/cerc.html

douglas.wallace@dal.ca

902-494-4132

Ecosystem Hotspots

Dr. Erin Bertrand

Assistant Professor and Canada Research Chair in Marine Microbial Proteomics, Dalhousie University

My lab studies marine microbes and their influence on global biogeochemistry.  I am particularly interested in 1) the roles of micronutrients in shaping marine microbial communities and 2) in using quantitative, mass spectrometry based techniques to study microbial activity.

http://www.dal.ca/faculty/science/biology/faculty-staff/our-faculty/erin-bertrand.html

erin.bertrand@dal.ca

902-494-1853

Dr. Heike Lotze

Canada Research Chair in Marine Renewable Resources Biology Department, Dalhousie University

Human-induced changes in marine populations, communities and ecosystems

http://lotzelab.biology.dal.ca/

hlotze@dal.ca

902-494-3406

Dr. Megan Bailey

Assistant Professor of Marine Affairs, Dalhousie University

Understanding how private-and state-based governance can combine for cooperation of common pool marine resources.

http://www.dal.ca/faculty/science/marine-affairs-program/faculty-staff/our-faculty/megan-bailey.html

Megan.Bailey@Dal.Ca

Dr. Lucia Fanning

Professor of Marine Affairs, Dalhousie University

Coastal and ocean management, fisheries governance, regional ocean governance, science/policy interface.

http://www.dal.ca/faculty/science/marine-affairs-program.html

lucia.fanning@dal.ca

902-494-8390

Dr. Jeff Hutchings

Professor of Biology, Dalhousie University

Evolutionary ecology & biology of fishes.

http://myweb.dal.ca/jhutch/

Jhutch@dal.ca

902-494-2687

Dr. Julie LaRoche

Professor of Biology, Dalhousie University

Marine microbial genomics and marine biogeochemistry.

julie.laroche@dal.ca

902-494-4249

Dr. Anna Metaxas

Professor of Oceanography, Dalhousie University

My lab study's the factors that regulate populations of benthic marine invertebrates of ecological and economic importance, using a combination of approaches, such as field sampling, laboratory experiments and mathematical modelling.

http://annametaxas.wordpress.com

anna.metaxas@dal.ca

902-494-3021

Dr. Boris Worm

Professor of Biology, Dalhousie University

Marine biodiversity, fisheries ecology and ecosystem management

http://wormlab.biology.dal.ca

boris.worm@dal.ca

902-494-2146

Seafloor Structures

Dr. David Barclay

Assistant Professor, Department of Oceanography; Canada Research Chair (Tier II), Dalhousie University Ocean Technology Systems

Research Topics:  Acoustical oceanography, passive acoustic remote sensing, instrument design and signal processing

http://noise.phys.ocean.dal.ca/

dbarclay@dal.ca

902-494-4164

Dr. David Piper

Adjunct Professor, Department of Oceanography - Dalhousie University; Geological Survey of Canada (Atlantic) - Bedford Institute of Oceanography

Geohazards

dpiper@nrcan.gc.ca

Dr. Mladen Nedimovcić

Full Professor and Canada Research Chair in Geophysics & Petroleum Exploration, Dalhousie University

Investigations of mid-ocean ridges, subduction zones, rifted margins, and sea level change using controlled source seismology

http://myweb.dal.ca/ml234413/

mladen@dal.ca

(902) 494-4524

Dr. G. Pe-Piper

Saint Mary’s University

Igneous petrology, mineralogy

http://www.smu.ca/academic/science/geology/bios/georgia_pe-piper.html

gpiper@smu.ca

902-420-5744

Dr. Mae L. Seto

Adjunct Professor, Oceanography Department, Dalhousie University

Intelligent autonomy for marine autonomous vehicles, multi-agent systems, underwater vehicle and tow body dynamics, underwater acoustics

http://poisson.me.dal.ca/site2/department/faculty/seto.html

mae.seto@dal.ca

902-423-6711